Linbury Prize 2017: Finalists announced

Posted on 03 Tue 10 2017

This year the twelve finalists are: Laura Albeck, Emily Bates, Basia Binkowska, Eleanor Bull, Abby Clarke, Dylan Howells, Maxwell Nicholson-Lailey, Sonya Plenefisch, Khadija Raza, Fin Redshaw, Jessica Staton and Jasmine Swan.

The finalists will each get the chance to work with one of the participating companies and four of the twelve will win a commission to realise their designs, with one designer being awarded the overall winner's title.

Khadija Raza, Maxwell Nicholson-Lailey and Sonya Plenefisch will design Dido, a co-production between the Unicorn Theatre and ENO, to be directed by Purni Morell. Basia Binkowska, Jessica Staton and Dylan Howells Othello / Macbeth directed by Jude Christian and Sean Holmes for the Lyric Hammersmith. Jasmine Swan, Laura Albeck and Eleanor Bull will be working on designs for Windrush: Movement of the People choreographed by Sharon Watson for Phoenix Dance Theatre. Emily Bates, Fin Redshaw and Abby Clarke will work on designs for a new musical called Pieces of String by Gus Gowland and directed by Daniel Buckroyd for Mercury Theatre, Colchester.

All twelve designs will feature in an exhibition at the National Theatre from 1 November – 2 January 2018 in the Lyttelton Lounge.

2013 Awards ceremony at the National Theatre
2013 awards ceremony at the National Theatre

Madeleine Girling, photo by Sheila Burnett
2013 Winner, Madeleine Girling

Latest News


Leeds Playhouse are opening their new production of Dr Korczaks Example by David Greig. The production is directed by James Brining and is designed by Linbury Prize Winner Rose Revitt. 

Rose has written a brilliant piece for what’s on stage and was featured on an interview on Entertainmemt Focus about the stage design.







This year’s overall winner of the Linbury Prize is Sami Fendall, who will be designing a newly commissioned dance work as part of Ballet Now for Birmingham Royal Ballet.

Also announced were three other winners Zoe Hurwitz designing ACID for Nuffield Southampton Theatres, Rose Revitt designing Dr Korczak’s Example for Leeds Playhouse and TK Hay designing An Adventure for Octagon Theatre Bolton.

2019 marks 30 years since the Linbury Prize was first held at the National Theatre. The first exhibition for emerging designers took place in 1987 at the Theatre Museum, arranged by Anya Sainsbury. In 1989 the first Linbury Biennial Prize for Stage Design was held at the NT and the Prize is still held here today.  Over the 30 years, more than 1,200 young designers have entered the Linbury Prize for Stage Design.