2015 Linbury Prize winners announced

Posted on 08 Tue 12 2015

The winner of the 2015 Linbury Prize for Stage Design has been announced as Grace Smart, whose winning design for Saint Joan will be produced at the Lyric Theatre, Belfast next year.

The twelve finalists have been given the opportunity to work with four production companies, and four of the twelve have won a commission to realise their designs with the participating companies:

Camilla Clarke (Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama), who will design Human Animals at the Royal Court Theatre, London.       
Jen McGinley (Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama), who will design Autumn at the Traverse, Edinburgh
Grace Smart (Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts), who will design Saint Joan at the Lyric Theatre, Belfast
Philippa Brocklehurst (Royal Central School of Speech and Drama) who will design A Passage to India at the Nuffield, Southampton.

In conjunction with the British Council a further winner, Minglu Wang (Royal Central School of Speech and Drama), will design a production of Shakespeare’s A Winter’s Tale in Ukraine in 2016.

Congratulations to Grace, Camilla, Jen, Philippa, and all this year's finalists. You can see their work in an exhibition at the National Theatre’s Lyttelton Lounge until 3 January.

2013 Awards ceremony at the National Theatre
2013 awards ceremony at the National Theatre

Madeleine Girling, photo by Sheila Burnett
2013 Winner, Madeleine Girling

Latest News


Leeds Playhouse are opening their new production of Dr Korczaks Example by David Greig. The production is directed by James Brining and is designed by Linbury Prize Winner Rose Revitt. 

Rose has written a brilliant piece for what’s on stage and was featured on an interview on Entertainmemt Focus about the stage design.







This year’s overall winner of the Linbury Prize is Sami Fendall, who will be designing a newly commissioned dance work as part of Ballet Now for Birmingham Royal Ballet.

Also announced were three other winners Zoe Hurwitz designing ACID for Nuffield Southampton Theatres, Rose Revitt designing Dr Korczak’s Example for Leeds Playhouse and TK Hay designing An Adventure for Octagon Theatre Bolton.

2019 marks 30 years since the Linbury Prize was first held at the National Theatre. The first exhibition for emerging designers took place in 1987 at the Theatre Museum, arranged by Anya Sainsbury. In 1989 the first Linbury Biennial Prize for Stage Design was held at the NT and the Prize is still held here today.  Over the 30 years, more than 1,200 young designers have entered the Linbury Prize for Stage Design.